PDA

View Full Version : Controlled Chaos Arms Training

benw315
04-29-12, 20:31
Hey,

Last Sunday I took the Basic Rifle training course from Controlled Chaos Arms in Iowa.
www.controlledchaosarms.com
I figured I would tell you all my experience with them. I'm not an expert so take this review how you want.

First, the instructors were Keith and Rick. Both were very helpful and friendly. They both seemed very knowledgeable with firearms. They have also both taken several training courses with people such as Larry Vickers. Keith is regionally endorsed as an instructor by Larry Vickers.

The first thing we did was to get an introduction to the AR platform and safety, followed by Keith lubing all of our rifles. We then obtained an approximate zero set up for 100 yards. I prefer the 50/2XX zero myself, but the class prefers the 100 yard zero. They then taught us proper trigger control and breathing while shooting. They explained four different shooting positions: prone, kneeling, sitting, and standing. We practiced these positions throughout the day. Once this was done, we backed up to the 100 yard line and shot at man sized targets in an attempt to get all 30 shots in the target and this was timed. It's the same test LEOs around there have to pass. We had to utilize all of our shooting positions and a reload through this test. The last thing we did for the day was the 1-5 drill. Overall we shot probably around 300 rounds (my estimate, could be wrong). They taught more marksmanship instead of the tactical aspect. The tactical part comes later in their more advanced carbine courses.

Overall, I thought this course was very beneficial for me. I got to shoot some rounds down range and also learned a few things.
I was always under the impression we were to use the large peep aperature for most shooting, and the small aperature for long distance shots. Is this correct? They said we are to use the small peep for almost everything, and the large in low light situations.