PDA

View Full Version : Tier 1 Instructor

RamZar
08-21-12, 19:07
How would you define / characterize a Tier 1 Instructor (as opposed to top tier)? Is it their reputation and years of instruction or the fact that they have taught Tier 1 Operators (Delta & DevGru although Intelligence Support Activity is also added at times as well as some of the overseas units like SAS, SBE, etc.).

In the absence of certification or standards is it too loose a term? Is it all too subjective?

I know Paul Howe whom I respect greatly calls himself a Tier 1 Senior Instructor (I know about his experience as a Tier 1 Operator).

Even if subjective, who would you call a "Tier 1 Instructor"?

Addendum on 8.21.2012 at 17:32 PT:

This will help me in my training.

I've taken courses with the following:

ITTS, TFTT, Falcon Operations Group, Chris Costa, GPS Defense, TAC-1, Blackwater, Rob Haught, TASC, Suarez, and some others.

However, I really started improving once I started training with the following since November 2010:

Ken Hackathorn, Larry Vickers, Jason Falla, Jeff Gonzales, TigerSwan, Mike Pannone, Pat McNamara, JD Potynsky (with Kyle Defoor and Frank Proctor coming up in September and October respectively).

So, I'm looking for more instructors like the latter group including Kyle Lamb and Paul Howe.

RyanB
08-21-12, 19:36
Tiers were devised by JSOC to establish funding priorities, not as a measure of abilities. People way overthink this stuff.

ETA: Not that there isn't a strong correlation between tier and abilities wrt DA, but it comes from funding priorities.

The Virus
08-21-12, 19:57
I think according to the definition of Tier1. A Tier 1 instructor is someone who instructs Tier 1 unit members.
Frank Proctor comes to mind as someone I know actually is a Tier 1 instructor.

However I believe the term Tier 1 is used incorrectly the vast majority of the time in regards to instructors and others as well.

That being said, there are a number of instructors that would qaulify