PDA

View Full Version : 5.56/223 reload powder question

MSteven
02-03-08, 16:11
I'm new to AR's, having just purchased an Armalite M15A4C carbine.

I plan on buying a case or two of Prvi Partizan 55gr, but I'm a reloader at heart and plan on loading my own on my Dillon 550B.

My question is about suitable powders for AR15 application.

My primary bullet weight will probably be 55gr.

I have a large amount of IMR 4895 and Varget, some H322, and H335 that fit in the suitable for 223 burn range.

I'd like to use the IMR4895, at least till I use up the 16lbs+. It seems to burn a lot cleaner than either H322 or H335, and about the same as Varget. Is powder residue a major reason for selection for AR use?

Thanks in advance.

Mark

skyugo
02-03-08, 16:36
i just started another thread about H335. DIRTY! compared to IMR 3031 and IMR 4320 anyway.

i'm kind of confused by the ball powder obsession many people here have. :confused:

i know the army uses ball powder, and it caused some serious issues in original M16's back in vietnam.

granted a lot of that has been taken care of, but the basic design of the ar15/m16 is still the same, and IMR is what it was made to use...

all imho of course.

i've heard some good things about varget...
worst thing i've heard about IMR is that it's hard to meter accurately. i find i can get it within about .2 grains. not "match grade" but fine for me.

Scattergun
02-03-08, 18:37
I have loaded AA 2230 for years with no problems..

MSteven
02-03-08, 21:23
scattergun, I will certainly consider AA 2230 when I buy more powder. But for now, I could use some recommendations regarding the powders I have right now.
Thank, Mark

UVvis
02-04-08, 00:02
Ball powder meters well and is consistent. It's just easier to work with and flows into casings easily.

I haven't used the H332, but in regards to the others: