PDA

View Full Version : FBI looking at changing pistol calibers!

dtibbals
04-25-13, 22:56
I have it from a very reliable source the FBI are soon to release some updated data from a recent study on effectiveness of modern day handgun rounds. The FBI is most likely switching to 9mm, bullet of choice 147g Speer Gold Dot.

I for one am happy to see them make the change, lots of great choices in 147g 9mm..Ranger T, HST, Gold Dot to name a few.

I am sure this will create a lot of debate amongst the bigger is better guys but this is a very smart move in my opinion.

xrayoneone
04-25-13, 23:03
I don't see it happening. We (.gov I'm not FBI) are in the middle of sequestration. Changing handguns for 11,000+ gun toters is an expensive proposition. There is nothing currently wrong with the Glock 40's they are packing. I've been hearing about caliber/gun changes for seven years now. I will say stranger things have happened though.

STONE-YARDER
04-25-13, 23:03
Interesting, care to share your source?

dtibbals
04-25-13, 23:04
Interesting, care to share your source?

Not by name but a high level in the "know" person with the FBI...will be released soon.

dtibbals
04-25-13, 23:09
I don't see it happening. We (.gov I'm not FBI) are in the middle of sequestration. Changing handguns for 11,000+ gun toters is an expensive proposition. There is nothing currently wrong with the Glock 40's they are packing. I've been hearing about caliber/gun changes for seven years now. I will say stranger things have happened though.

Currently 13,913 special agents :-). I didn't say they are doing it right now but expect to see the change over a period of time starting with new agents just as they did with the 10mm, 40S&W and Glock's. The Glock Gen 4 did not pass their test and isn't approved for use so who knows but their new study is relevant to modern bullets.

DocGKR
04-26-13, 00:17