PDA

View Full Version : M&P refugee: I suck with Glocks

theblackknight
09-16-13, 02:12
Picked up a G4 17 and 19 last week and hit the range on Friday. I've been shooting M&P's for 5 years now and the switch was not pretty. Shot 400+ rounds with factory Fed(150),factory reloads(100) and my reloads between the 2 and got the same results. I did spend more time with the 19 since it's smaller and not as easy.

At 7y, first rounds of the day, trying to punch the "A" itself.
https://scontent-a-iad.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-frc1/1175441_301804323295256_461137569_n.jpg

about 100 rounds later. Using top of box as top of sight. 10r from 7,5 from 25.
https://scontent-a-iad.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash3/1240221_301804289961926_665624256_n.jpg

After that, I tried fixing things . I rolled my thumb around even more getting the pistol centered so I had more "wall" on the backstrap and this fixed the shooting left part some(I used the L backstraps with M&P's). I started getting more finger on the trigger and it was better
so I shoot this at 15y at a semi rapidish pace.10 rounds,some doubles
https://scontent-a-iad.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-prn2/1280871_301804303295258_823956194_n.jpg

Still high and left but I had a direction for dryfire at that point. Now sitting here, waiting on various kydex to arrive(Dark Star Gear is the man) and dryfiring stuff from the ready, I'm putting a lot of finger in before my sights stay still. The right side of the trigger is in the 1st crease. :eek:

Everything I've seen (like Surf's bomb ass videos that will hopefully see daylight again) from tuned up shooters is they are using the tip's pad, as did I with other guns with good results.

Is this my new normal? Any Glock shooters here use that much finger?

Also:FYI Factory reloads were LAX brand and were flashy as hell on the indoor range.

polymorpheous
09-16-13, 05:13
I took McNamara's TAPS course last fall.
He suggested more trigger finger for righties that are shooting left.
I guess it's just a Glock thing.