PDA

View Full Version : Standardizing: Should I sell my Sig?

jcshelto
09-20-13, 15:09
First, I've been a long time lurker here--this is an awesome forum with some very intelligent, insightful and experienced people.

I have been shooting for over twenty years between the civilian and Military world. I have finally started getting into competitive shooting, specifically IDPA and USPSA. Before I started shooting competititvely and training with specific objectives in mind (split times, holster to presentation, natural index, etc) I bought a Sig P226 and installed a threaded barrel and SRT with the ultimate objective of making it a suppressor host and range gun. I love the Sig--it is the easiest gun I own to shoot accurately; the trigger is easy, it indexes naturally, though front sight reacquisition is a little slow. It just really feels good to hold.

Fast forward to now. I shoot USPSA Production and IDPA SSP with a Glock 22 with powder puff rounds--it feels like a .22. I shoot limited with a Glock 35, but I am not done building my Glock 35 (It needs a few more features). My main defensive pistol is a Glock 20 with Underwood loads.

I recently had the opportunity of a lifetime to trade my Glock 26 Blue Label (carry gun) for a Glock 34 (red label) and some extras. I now need to replace my main carry gun, since I traded it.

My question is: As much as I like the Sig, I am afraid to shoot it extensively, because I focus most of my training on the Glock platform. Should I sell the Sig and turn my Glock 34 into the suppressor host/range toy? Am I being too sentimental? I could buy two blue label Glocks for the selling price of the Sig most likely.

Btw, I just took the Glock 34 to the range and although it is not as "ergonomic" as the Sig, I shoot the G34 like it was built for me.

jcshelto
09-20-13, 15:21
Here is a pic of my recent G34 target. This is 150 rounds of relatively fast fire--with several rapid mag dumps at 10 yards.