PDA

View Full Version : M&P troubles

slappy
09-20-13, 20:23
I'm gaining a lot of confidence in my shooting lately, however I'm experiencing a slight issue with my M&P 9. My support hand thumb is getting scorched by the slide takedown lever. I've tried working around it and finding a different grip, no matter what I do I keep getting cooked. I have rather large hands so maybe this isn't an issue amongst others but any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk 2

Gutshot John
09-20-13, 20:41
Can you take a picture of your grip?

I have the same problem on the PPQ.

slappy
09-20-13, 22:05

MegademiC
09-21-13, 00:30
I've put 200 rnds through a shield in 45 mins and never noticed the heat. On my full sized I have my thumb on the takedown lever while shooting and it never bothered me, but never had that many rounds in that little time. How many rounds are you shooting in how much time when you get burned?

Your grip looks fine to me (I am NO expert). I actually have my support hand a little higher and further forward than you - my support thumb knuckle rests on the front half of the lever.

slappy
09-21-13, 00:40
400 rounds in roughly an hour. It gets hot. Not quite blister the skin hot, but hot enough that my shots start going places I don't want them too.

Boris
09-21-13, 20:03
Roll your support hand further forward so that the wrist is fully extended downward and as a result, your support hand thumb will find itself further forward.

Not mine, but here is a link with a detailed description for your reference: http://lawenforcementtactics.com/training/instructional-articles/proper-handgun-grip

DanTSX
09-22-13, 20:20
Is it actually getting hot, or are you getting a lot of friction and starting a blister like a hotspot on your foot in bad shoes?