PDA

View Full Version : I "shouldn't" carry my M&P C.O.R.E. ?

azeriosu85
12-03-13, 18:01
I'm confused as i'm reading more and more about how the C.O.R.E. model shouldn't be considered for "hard use" or serious CCW consideration. I have the 9mm version with 4.25" so its easier to fit holsters i own. Now I understand the "C" stands for competition, but i'm just not getting why these things are being said. Some say the RMR setup is extremely weak and will affect zero, others that the lack of rear sight options make it a "write off". I do not see any of this, however i haven't placed a RMR on mine yet so onto that point i have zero experience. just curious what you guys think. Will this make me second guess my choice of CCW'ing this? absolutely not. Just curious on the reasons why some rag on this as anything but a competition gun.

policetested
12-03-13, 18:07
the problem with the mini red dot cut out is that it is generic. The screws become the only baring surface for the G-force the sight experiences during cycling. They will eventually become loose allowing the sight to move or worst case fail and the sight falls off.

True low mounted mini red dots have the slide machined to the sight. This means the sight is fitted to the slide and is snug fit so that the screws essentially are insurance the sight does not move; much like set pin/screw on an iron sight. This is why most places machining slides for mini red dots prefer to have your sight for the slide to get an exact fit; at least that is what the folks at Lone Wolf tell me.

Hope that helps

kLewis
12-04-13, 02:53
It seems you're referring to Hilton Yam's article, since you paraphrased it twice in your post. http://modernserviceweapons.com/?p=5381 Unfortunately, you've taken a lot of what it actually says out of context, and now you're wondering if others can validate your feelings.