PDA

View Full Version : Getting a CCW gun?

SoDak
06-25-09, 16:12
Recently I've been trying to fill any real gaps in my gun collection when I realized I don't have any real suitable CCW handguns(never really needed one out on the farm, always had a rifle). I thought maybe this should be my next purchase.

I've been considering a G19 since it looks like it looks concealable, but I big enough I can still shoot it often enough to get good with it. I handled a G26 and thought that it would be too small so I figure the G19 would be about right. Any comments on my choice? Also other than ammo and mags is there anything else my gun might need like a light or night sights? I'm pretty new to the idea of a CCW gun, so I thought I better get some solid advice.

Icculus
06-25-09, 16:18
Well, I don't want to speak for anyone but from reading other threads I believe alot of folks on here are going to say you made a wise choice. Heck, I'm not even a glock guy and I'll say you made a wise choice.

That being said, I don't know what everyone's feeling here are on Para but this is what I'm looking at for my next conceal gun down the road
http://www.paraord.com/new/product_pistol.php?id=58:)

citizensoldier16
06-25-09, 16:37
Lights on a CCW gun is really a matter of personal preference. The G19 will suit you just fine, as it is probably the most popular CCW gun on this site.

For weight and concealment issues, I do not carry a light on my G19. Rather, I carry a Surefire in my pocket for use if necessary.

A good holster is vital to the completion of a good CCW setup. Even the best rigs can be limited by the holster, so make sure you get one that you're comfortable with.

Slugger
06-25-09, 16:46
That's a great sized gun. I've tried to make myself a Glock guy but they just don't fit my hand. I carry an XD45c which seems to get some bad marks on this board but it works for me. The Glocks do take a beating and ask for more so its a great choice.
Slugger

Jerm
06-25-09, 17:47