PDA

View Full Version : Questions on S&W snubbies

jhs1969
08-15-09, 14:38
I have a S&W 637 I bought for my wife a few years ago, I've since gotten her a Kahr K9 and carry the 637 during the hottest summer months myself. It is the newer version with the key lock.

I just bought a S&W 36 which I will resale to my father-in-law. It is an older version with the firing pin fixed to the hammer and no key lock and a pinned barrel.

My 637 is stamped on the barrel as .38 +P, the 36 is just stamped as .38 spcl. Would +P's be ok to use in this revolver?

Is there any advantages/disadvantages in the pinned barrel?

I'm not up to speed on S&W's older relvolvers, is there anything else I need to know?

87GN
08-15-09, 14:49
Probably be fine to carry with +Ps, but I wouldn't shoot them as a regular diet.

Beyond that, I'm no expert, I just carry a 442.

ThirdWatcher
08-15-09, 15:09
If anything, the 36 should be stronger than the 637 because it has a steel frame (and the 637's frame is aluminum). I have fired .38 Special +P's in my 36 (which I bought new in 1976) without problem. I would expect a shortened lifespan for it if I put a lot of +P's through it on a regular basis, though.

S&W does make .357 Magnum J-Frames, although I don't think I'll ever have a use for one.:)

Beat Trash
08-15-09, 16:47
Older J-Frame guns were not rated for +P ammunition, even the steel frame guns.

With that said, a small amount of +P would not hurt them, though a steady diet of it might not be a good idea.

jhs1969
08-15-09, 20:08
Older J-Frame guns were not rated for +P ammunition, even the steel frame guns.

With that said, a small amount of +P would not hurt them, though a steady diet of it might not be a good idea.

Thanks for the replies. Anyone have any thoughts on the pinned barrel? I assume they use threaded barrels now, is this correct?

signsrup
08-15-09, 20:26