PDA

View Full Version : Who is using a Raven Phantom to conceal Full Size M&P

Rickenbacker53
08-27-09, 17:58
I see several Ravens Phantoms used for sale. I am wondering if guys are not happy with using them to conceal a larger gun like the fullSize M&P. I am currently using a Safari ALS 6377 -78 (belt & Paddle combo ) .

I love it for a range holster and have been considering buying a 6004 tactical shroud and attaching holster for class.

But 6378 doesn't cover up the best for concealed carry.

Are the ravens really the way to go. Thanks guys.

Alpha Sierra
08-27-09, 18:35
When it comes to belt holsters, plastic will never conform to the shape of your body like leather does and thus plastic belt holsters will never conceal as well as leather belt holsters.

Plastic holsters have their advantages. Molding to you is not one of them.

http://www.fist-inc.com/holsters/holster/12a.jpg

BobM
08-27-09, 18:52
I've been carrying my M&P40/TLR off-duty in a Phantom for a couple of years now, mostly IWB, although sometimes in winter I'll put the OWB loops back on. It conceals well on me, and holds the pistol securely.

NCPatrolAR
08-27-09, 20:40
I use a Raven holster for on and offduty use for a MP40 w/ light. It works well; you just have to be careful to not crack the mounting hardware. If I'm not using the Raven, I'm using a Comp-Tac CTAC.

zephyr
08-27-09, 21:18
Raven makes a fantastic holster. I have one for my G19 and 228 and wear them all the time. They are super thin yet very sturdy. In the unlikely scenario that you have a problem, they have a great warranty. I like leather too and have a bunch of Milt Sparks holsters but when I want the absolute thinnest, lightest holster around, I wear a Raven.

Rickenbacker53
08-27-09, 21:53