PDA

View Full Version : Tips for curing a flinch

parishioner
09-17-09, 14:27
This is slightly embarrassing but I want to get better and I need some help regarding flinching. Its not a problem for me when I slow fire but when I shoot rapidly or consecutive shots, I find myself tensing up and it is taking me off target. What are some things I could do to overcome this? Is this something that disappears over time?

I wouldn't say I'm a novice pistol shooter but I'm not really at the intermediate stage either.

Thanks

Jay Cunningham
09-17-09, 14:28
A ball and dummy drill is a great way to help overcome flinch.

Gutshot John
09-17-09, 14:31
SAFE dry-fire practice (like a ball and dummy drill) worked pretty well for me though you don't necessarily need a spent round if you watch your sights closely.

Every day fire about 100 trigger pulls (using proper focus, technique and presentation) Focus on smooth trigger pull, you'll gradually de-condition the response, artificially fooling your brain not to expect the shot and therefore not flinch.

Live rounds at this point seem to be reinforcing your flinch instead of getting you over it.

spamsammich
09-17-09, 14:38

Yep, grab a handfull of snapcaps and mix them up in your ammo pile, then have a buddy load your mags for you. concentrate on smooth, consistent trigger pull, and sight picture.

This, combined with lots of dry fire as GSJ describes has worked wonders for me so far.

DBake
09-17-09, 14:39
You will never get rig of the flinch, it is natural to do it. You can only mininize it by practicing the tichniques above.

rob_s
09-17-09, 15:25

Being prone to a massive finch myself, I'll disagree.

Ball and dummy is great for diagnosing a flinch, or to get someone to understand that they are flinching, but does little to cure it.

Dryfire works much better in my experience.

rob_s
09-17-09, 15:27