PDA

View Full Version : Reloading .45 ACP (230 grain FMJ): What Else Do I Need?

Whytep38
12-15-11, 19:58
I'm just starting out reloading, and I'm hoping I can get some advice. I bought some equipment and supplies a while back but had to postpone things due to my work situation. Now I'm trying to get back at it.

Here's what I have so far:

* RCBS Model 505 Reloading Scale
* Lee .45 ACP Carbide Dies #90513 (uses #13 shell holder)
* Lee Class Turret Press (4 hole)
* Hogdon Clays Powder (shows 5.2 grain for .45 ACP)
* Magtech Large Pistol Primers #2-1/2
* Montana Gold 230-grain FMJ Bullets

I know I still need to get some more equipment and supplies, but I don't know what else I need. All I want to reload is basic 230-grain FMJ loads.

Any and all help will be much appreciated!

Atchcraft
12-15-11, 20:36
While you are picking up the rest of your supplies, I'd get a reloading manual or 3. There is must have info in there that is really going to save you a lot of grief... maybe your hands and face as well. Dont know your situation and I'm not trying to preach, just sayin!

Dial or digital calipers are a must for determining your OAL, so add those to the list. That is really going to play a role in how the round feeds in YOUR pistol and what kind of presure going to ned up with. I noticed you mentioned 5.2gr. of Clays. I know the front of the jug list that, but you're really going to want to work up all your loads. I shoot 4.0gr. of Clays behind 230. Clays is fast, soft and clean. But, if I want a "regular" 230 FMJ load, I love W231. I think its all relative to what you want.

One can go on forever... There's a metric crap-ton of info out there, just go slow, be safe and have fun.

5pins
12-15-11, 20:52
You are going to need some brass.:dance3:

JBOlson
12-15-11, 22:32