Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: #1 Buck vs. 00 Buck

Feedback Score

#1 Buck vs. 00 Buck

MY HD guns is a Mossberg 590A1, and I love it. However, I read that #1 Buck has a ballistic advantage over 00 because of the increased cross section of the additional pellets in the #1 shells. I'm no expert on ballistics for SG's so I'd wonder if anyone has some data or gellatin tests between the two. Thanks, djd
    NRA Member

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    I don't know exactly, but I like no1 because you get double the projectiles with .30 cal pellets than they of the .33 cal 00bk.

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Yes, #1 buck is my favorite.

http://www.firearmstactical.com/briefs10.htm

"12 Gauge Shotshell Ammunition
    For personal defense and law enforcement applications, the International Wound Ballistics Association advocates number 1 buckshot as being superior to all other buckshot sizes.

Number 1 buck is the smallest diameter shot that reliably and consistently penetrates more than 12 inches of standard ordnance gelatin when fired at typical shotgun engagement distances. A standard 2 ¾-inch 12 gauge shotshell contains 16 pellets of #1 buck. The total combined cross sectional area of the 16 pellets is 1.13 square inches. Compared to the total combined cross sectional area of the nine pellets in a standard #00 (double-aught) buck shotshell (0.77 square inches), the # 1 buck shotshell has the capacity to produce over 30 percent more potentially effective wound trauma.

In all shotshell loads, number 1 buckshot produces more potentially effective wound trauma than either #00 or #000 buck. In addition, number 1 buck is less likely to over-penetrate and exit an attacker's body.