Thread: Carbon wrapped barrels

Feedback Score

Carbon wrapped barrels

I am a novice with AR's and I was wondering if anyone has input on carbon wrapped barrels. I am having an upper built for me and it will have a 16" carbon wrapped barrel on it. From what I was told and read, the barrel will cool off faster than a normal barrel, will be a little more rigid (and hopefully accurate) and a little lighter than a normal barrel. The barrel is somewhat pricey but the seller is local and a good guy. Anyone out there with real world experience with these barrels? Any input would be appreciated.

Feedback Score
    You got a link to or picture of this barrel?
    -David

AR-15 owner/shooter since 1998

Feedback Score
    14 (100%)
    Carbon fiber barrel maybe?

I think I saw some guy at the range dialing in his deer rifle with something like this, but I know nothing about the subject.

There was some carbon fiber barrel talk on TOS a few years ago, but I never really read about it.
    "What would a $2,000 Geissele Super Duty do that a $500 PSA door buster on Black Friday couldn't do?" - Stopsign32v

Feedback Score
    -David

AR-15 owner/shooter since 1998

Feedback Score
    Christensen Arms comes to mind with thier carbon graphite barrels...they only do bolt guns though. http://www.christensenarms.com/

Feedback Score
    7 (100%)
    JTACH supply out of OK might be able to answer your question. I have talked to him before back when he built my 6.8 upper, and he seems to be a good guy, and he did a great job on my upper. I know that he has done atleast one carbon barrel because on this site if you go to the big bore rifles picture thread he has a carbon fiber .308 that is the pirst picture in the thread.

https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=74
    "Intelligence is not the ability to regurgitate information. It is the ability to make sound decisions on a consistent basis "--me