Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Residential Generators

Feedback Score
    18 (100%)

Residential Generators

I've been mulling over purchasing a generator for our home for a few years now, and since we are about to complete a new build I figure it may be a good time to go ahead with it. We have a couple diesel/gas ones out at our farm, nothing fancy we just run extension cords to power the water pump, heat, etc. for the horses. They're Hondas IIRC.

We have natural gas in our area so my plan was to have a Generac installed and tied into our natural gas line. So far I've gotten quotes on those and an 8kw (10 circuits or so, no AC or dryer) is roughly $4,500 installed and a 20kw ("whole home") is $8-9,000 installed. Yikes! I know it's pay to play but jeez, that's over half the patio I wanted to put in.

The options I'm aware of:
    Portable gas
    +cheap
    +portable
    +versatile
    -have to run a bunch of cords
    -not automatic
    -have to refill

Portable with professionally-installed plug+transfer panel
    +reasonable cost
    +still portable
    +versatile
    +don't have to run cords (can select circuits via second panel in basement)
    -not automatic
    -have to refill

Natural gas Generac or Kohler
    +automatic
    +higher capacity
    +resale
    -cost

So my question is what do you guys use? What is your experience on the topic? Thanks!
    Last edited by munch520; 12-30-13 at 11:06.

Feedback Score
    5 (100%)
    I'm running an 8000 watt gas portable thru a professionally installed panel. We just switch on the circuits we want to use and watch how many things we run at a time.

It's MUCH better than running extension cords and easy to use with just one large twist lock cord plugged into a covered outlet outside. That being said, if I was building new and doing it over, I'd likely go the generac gas route. Just need to ask yourself what your likely needs are and what your most likely outages come from?