Thread: Trust benefits beyond NFA?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Feedback Score
    34 (100%)

Trust benefits beyond NFA?

Mods, if this doesn't belong here please move/delete. Was going to put in GD but figure more people might have trust insight here.

I want to start a trust. Obviously the NFA wait time is my major factor. My local LEO signs everything I have brought to them so far, no issues whatsoever. What are the other reasons to create a trust that are non-firearm related. I'm trying to validate this with the wife beyond the firearms.

I've read a bunch on it, and quite frankly, my head hurts.

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    I'm no trust expert and I'm in the same oat as you. From what I gather is its in simple terms like a will. If you made a trust and I was the 1st trustee, the. You pass away I take control of the trust and all items in it. I'm sure someone will correct me tho

Sent from my IPhone, please ignore spelling mistakes. Siri is dumb.

Feedback Score
    7 (100%)
    There are 2 schools of thought with regards to inheritance.

Lawyers on both sides argue pro/anti trust.

I went trust because I wanted to let my family use my NFA items when I wasn't home or if they wanted to go to the range without me. I highly doubt a prosecutor would hassle your wife if she used an SBR to kill an intruder, but dumber things have been argued in court (I.e reloading your own defense bullets makes you a killer etc.).

I live in a pro gun area and most likely wouldn't have a problem with a CLEO sign off. I'm not trying to get one past the system by going the trust route... But just want to let my property be used how I want. Not how the ATF dictates I have to be present and the only one who can have access to my NFA items.