Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: AK47 zero

Feedback Score

AK47 zero

I have googled a little bit to see if there is something out there already, but my question is does anyone on here have the same type of work done already for the AK47 platform as this gentleman has already done for the AR15?
    https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread...100-Meter-Zero

I have seen things like this all over the net for the ar15 platform, but not so much for the ak47. I have read the russian protocol for zeroing an ak at 100m. The hits should be 10" high than POA...The thinking I believe is they trained soldiers to aim for the waist and you should be effective out to 100, 200 meters (I am no expert and I am sure I just messed that all up, forgive me).

I bought an arsenal slr107 and they said they laser bore sighted the gun at the factory at 100m. I know the AK round isn't a flat shooting round, but what is the flatest zero for the round?

Feedback Score
    I zeroed my AK's open irons at 25m and then forgot about it. It seems they might have done a zero very close to that at the factory because very little adjustment was required to get POI=POA.

Have you shot your SLR107 at 100m yet?

Feedback Score
    I have shot it at 100 yards. The shots were about 10" high if memory serves me. But again I think the russian set up was for it to be 10" high.

Feedback Score
    This is where I am pulling this info from...Again I don't claim to be an expert.
    http://www.theakforum.net/files/ZERO-AK47.pdf

Feedback Score
    I sighted in using the "New Method". I set the rear sight on the 100-meter setting and adjusted to make POI=POA at 25 meters.

The "Old Official Soviet" method is better if you will be shooting at longer distances.

Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by GunBugBit View Post
    I sighted in using the "New Method". I set the rear sight on the 100-meter setting and adjusted to make POI=POA at 25 meters.