Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: MOE handguard vs Rail

Feedback Score

MOE handguard vs Rail

This is not a gear question per se but a function question related to the gear mentioned. I currently have a 14.5 M4 clone (Norc CQA) with a carbine length MOE handguard (given to me for free). This is my first AR and I'm fairly new to shooting and I'm wondering if the short handguard will be a detriment to my shooting as it affects my grip and stance. Will switching to a longer rail be a better way to go? Will stretching my support hand further out really affect my shooting that much or will either set up be viable and just be a matter of training?

I originally intended on buying a rail and was looking at a Troy Delta rail until I was handed this MOE. I am currently deciding whether it's worth it to spend the extra cash to pursue getting the rail.

Feedback Score
    8 (100%)
    It's really a matter of personal preference. You can maintain the same stance and grip with the shorter hand guards. The extension of the arm is practical though, it helps mitigate recoil and will help you transition from target to target better. You also have to look at what you want the rail for, are you going to attach a light of vertical grip? All things like I said can be done with you MOE hand guards or if you want something longer look into one of the many modular forearms.

Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by Nowski87 View Post
    It's really a matter of personal preference. You can maintain the same stance and grip with the shorter hand guards. The extension of the arm is practical though, it helps mitigate recoil and will help you transition from target to target better. You also have to look at what you want the rail for, are you going to attach a light of vertical grip? All things like I said can be done with you MOE hand guards or if you want something longer look into one of the many modular forearms.