Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 1911 Gold Cup Trophy verus Ruger GP100

Feedback Score

1911 Gold Cup Trophy verus Ruger GP100

Shooters as an addition to my home defense I am strongly considering a 1911 Colt Gold Cup Trophy- 45acp or a Ruger GP100,357 magnum. Questions I have are (1) what handgun do you prefer (2) reason you prefer this handgun (3) with practice can a revolver fire fast enough to deter a lethal threat? I am a Marine Corp Veteran from the Viet Nam Era who has weapon experience but would appreciate any opinion for you can only learn more. Thank-you & Semper Fi Till The Day I Die!

Feedback Score
    52 (98%)
    Why a Gold Cup? The adjustable rear sight and trigger setup are more for target shooting. It would be fine for HD, but why? No advantage, only disadvantages. A plain 'ol O1991, Series 70, XSE, Rail Gun, or Combat Elite would be my chioces for a Colt.

A GP100 is a good revolver. If you like revolvers. I personally don't care for 'em other than a J-frame, but they're ok. Difficult to shoot and reload compared to a 1911, but plenty up to the task if you are.

I have a few 1911s, all 5" 45s, fixed sights, no ramped barrels. My most carried and relied on is a Colt Lightweight Government, my most shot is a Springfield Custom Carry. Both 100% reliable.

Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by samuse View Post
    Why a Gold Cup? The adjustable rear sight and trigger setup are more for target shooting. It would be fine for HD, but why? No advantage, only disadvantages. A plain 'ol O1991, Series 70, XSE, Rail Gun, or Combat Elite would be my chioces for a Colt.

A GP100 is a good revolver. If you like revolvers. I personally don't care for 'em other than a J-frame, but they're ok. Difficult to shoot and reload compared to a 1911, but plenty up to the task if you are.