Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Light weight patrol rifle build

Feedback Score
    9 (100%)

Light weight patrol rifle build

Range Report on new patrol rifle build 8-24-14

We I just put this rifle together. The parts are listed in the picture. I have been using a SCAR 17 as a patrol rifle for a few years now and on gun call about 4 months back I could not help but think how heavy that gun was and I have decided to go back to 5.56 and having something lighter. I also wanted to have something that was similar in set up to my three gun rifles that I shoot all the time in competition so my muscle memory would stay the same.
    I took the gun out today and sighted it in with both optics. I sighted the scope in at 100 yards and the off set red dot at 25 yards. The gun did not shoot as accurately as I would have liked but this is a pencil barrel so what can I expect. It still shot within reasonable levels for the mission of this gun. I wish I had a scale to weight it but the rifle feels like it comes in at around 8 pounds unloaded. It handled nicely. I shot a rifle qualification with it and scored 149 out of 150.

Serving as a LEO since 1999.
    USPSA# A56876 A Class
    Firearms Instructor
    Armorer for AR15, 1911, Glocks and Remington 870 shotguns.

Feedback Score
    Good looking build! Never seen a red dot placed in that spot, does it interfere with charging handle manipulation for you? What advantage do you gain by placing it there? I'm not trying to critique it by any means, just hoping to learn something new.

Feedback Score
    9 (100%)
    Thanks.