Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Opinions on my first SBR

Feedback Score
    6 (100%)

Opinions on my first SBR

So I took the plunge and created an NFA trust. Now it is time to start shopping. I want a quality SBR but I also don't want an overly complicated build that takes as much time as the 308 I am building.

I'm leaning towards Mega Arms stripped lower GTR3s or GTR3s ambi (send this off for engraving before submitted to BATFE!) with a Colt or DD LPK. I'd just assume buy a complete upper from someone like BCM: http://www.bravocompanyusa.com/BCM-1...1elw-kmr10.htm

Is there any reason to go shorter than 11.5 inches? I'm new to this but from what I'm reading you lose some performance and another inch or two really doesn't mean much to me
    Where on your SBR do you guys get the engraving that seems to look best? MagWell, Trigger guard? I will probably use Indent for the engraving
    From what I have read I can take the same upper and use it on multiple SBR lowers, correct? I believe this allows me to buy/register several lowers now but use the same upper on all of them which would obviously save money in the short run.

Anything obvious I'm missing here?

Feedback Score
    20 (100%)
    Length is more personal preference than anything else. The shorter you go, the more it will abuse a suppressor. But, if you're not running a can, why not go 10.5? I wouldn't get too caught up in ballistics, but that's just my opinion.

You can have as many uppers per lower as you'd like.

Front of Magwell is a good concealed location for engraving, but I would engrave the trigger guard if you're getting the mega

Feedback Score
    4 (100%)