Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A simple calculation to help find the best buffer/spring combo

Feedback Score

A simple calculation to help find the best buffer/spring combo

For my first build I went to great lengths to find an ideal buffer and spring configuration for my gun. I wanted my build to be a sweet shooter, so I started out with a 14.5" middy for its purported benefits over a carbine length gas system in combination with an M16 BCG. To tune the buffer and spring to the rest of the gun I turned to the forums but I was discouraged by the trial-and-error approach that is commonly advised. I didn't want to buy a bunch of extra parts and I wanted an answer that would satisfy my perfectionist side.

Due to the lack of hard numbers out there I had to find a way to mathematically represent different combinations of buffer weight and spring tension in order to find an optimal compromise between reliability and reduced recoil. Now, I am by no means an engineer or an expert so take all this with a grain of salt.

To start with, I dug up a chart of technical info on the forums that states that a Colt GI carbine spring imparts 6.040 lbs of force when compressed to 6.902". A standard H buffer weighs 3.8 oz. Since both of these components work in combination with each other I decided to use the product of the measurements as a unit of comparison. In order to do so I multiplied the spring weight by 16 so that the measurement would be in oz. So 6.040 x 16 = 96.64 and when multiplied by the buffer weight of 3.8 oz, we get a product of 367 units. Units of what you ask? **** if I know; like I said, I'm not an engineer. Think of this number as a unit of comparison.