Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 870 project (short barrel, etc)

Feedback Score

870 project (short barrel, etc)

Hi, looking for input.

I have an old beater wingmaster that works great but I want to do something with it. Getting "the works" looks like it might be 2k+. I debated making that the next project but can't justify the money.

Since it's not a duty weapon but more for fun, I'm deciding on budget-awesome.

Definitely are shorten the barrel, shorten or replace stock, and cerakote.

After that I'm thinking light mount, sling (QD attachments) and maybe ghost rings.

Any suggestions?

Feedback Score
    6 (100%)
    All of your above are good. You might call Vang Comp about doing your barrel

Sent from 80ms in the future
    Much peace
    Jimmy

Feedback Score
    13 (100%)
    If you don't want to shorten your barrel you can usually find 14-18 inch factory barrels in the net. And sell your current one to recoup some cost. I think Botach has the 14" ones regularly. I would do the barrel, furniture w/ shorter stock (maybe Speed Feed stock w/ shell holders and Surefire fore end), at least change the front bead to a tritium or fiber sight, and maybe a side saddle or probably shell cards.

I thought about picking up a project 870 but I think I'll buy a new 870P instaed. I just wish I could find a factory SBS w/ 14" barrel. I'm not sure Remington even sell a factory SBS though?

Feedback Score
    46 (100%)
    Honestly, the very first (and cheapest) mods I would do is a new Wolff mag spring and Hans Vang follower.

A good gunsmith can shorten the barrel for you for less than the cost of a new or used one.

I'm partial to an XS Big Dot tritium front sight on a shotgun.

A used stock and fore-end can be found on eBay for cheap.

Down the road, find a deal on a Surefire 618 light.

I've got four defensive shotguns (I know, I know...) and those are what they start out with as their first mods.