Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 12.5" SBR Build

Feedback Score
    91 (100%)

12.5" SBR Build

I'm in the process of putting together a 12.5" gun to replace the one that I regret selling some time ago. I have all of the components together except for the rail. I am using a Ballistic Advantage 12.5" barrel and want to put the longest rail that I can use on it and still be able to mount a Silencerco Saker K via the direct thread adapter or a Trifecta FH. I am wanting to use a 12" MI SSM M-Lok Rail, but fear that I won't be able to mount my can either by direct thread or on the Saker Trifecta FH. Am I sh** out of luck here and should just get the 10.5" SSM or would I still have the clearance with the 12" rail?
    "We sleep soundly in our beds because rough men stand ready in the night to visit violence on those who would do us harm."

- George Orwell

Feedback Score
    50 (100%)
    I have no direct experience with the combo you're talking about. But from what I've seen, read and the advice I've been given the rail needs to be 3/4" shorter than the barrel. So you'd need an 11 3/4" rail. Good luck.

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    I love my ssm mlok rails. Make sure and shoot MI a email or dig around for lengths. It's pretty rare that the length is exactly the length they advertise and for some reason I seem to recall these rails being +/- either way depending on the one you select. Could be important when getting as close as you want.

Feedback Score
    50 (100%)
    EDIT, found this on M4C: The MI-SSK-12 weighs 8.5oz WITH the barrel nut, actual length is 12.625", OD is 1.5", ID is 1.3".

Usually the "carbine" rail and "midlength" rail are longer than advertised.

I bought a 9" SSK for a 9" AAC barrel and I knew it would have to be cut, the carbine 9" rail is actually 9.25". Didn't turn out too bad, although I don't have the can to do a final fit check. Worst case I will make a straight cut.