Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Using a DA/SA pistol

Feedback Score

Using a DA/SA pistol

I'm new to the world of using DA/SA guns, I've only ever used SAO or striker fired handguns. I have to stress that I have zero experience in using DA/SA guns; I just recently picked up a P-07, and was considering giving it's DA feature a go. So please forgive me if the question sounds stupid.

I realize that DA to SA transitions require practice. Here's my question. You train to draw the gun, fire in DA, then go to SA. Simple enough. But I assume that the gun isn't decocked every single time there's a pause; it is only decocked when the gun is returned to the holster (please correct me if I'm wrong). So let's say that the gun is in SA, and you have to engage again. If one's muscle memory is tuned to a DA first shot, then wouldn't a shot in SA throw one's aim off? Such as expecting a heavy trigger pull, but it's light and short instead? Is this an issue anyone has run into before?

Feedback Score
    8 (100%)
    After the first shot you release to reset and keep on working. Also after you fire you are working single action only so to speak do you don't have to worry about the double action. It's hard to put in words but you will learn through practice.

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Never had an issue. You'll see that it isn't a big deal when you start shooting.

Feedback Score
    Keep in mind that, assuming the situation allows, you can learn to thumb the hammer back as you draw, then fire straight single action.

Feedback Score
    Why would you do that?
    It's not about surviving, it's about winning!

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)