Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Springfield Armory XD9 Service

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)

Springfield Armory XD9 Service

Picked up my first handgun last night. After comparing to some of the competitors, I selected the XD9 Service based off of comfort, offerings, reliability and price. A few things is like to point out:

Grip: really like the grip more than a G19, as I like a full purchase and not a finger hanging off. It also feels more natural to me to grab than the competitors as well.

Sights: while they might not be night sights, they are steel which is good in te fact that I won't need to change them out right away in the event that I had to manipulate the slide one handed. The glock also has a plastic? Guide rod?

Price: sure, the G19 was $150 more but I was able to get an extra mag, a fobus paddle holster (SB11) and an uncle mikes (size 16) and 100 rounds of ammo for the price the LGS had on the G19. Holsters may not have been top choice but I'm new to hand guns so they are enough to get me started.

Ill be making a shooters log that keeps up round count as well as failures, ftf's, fte's, accuracy, brand, grain, all of the details. I'll make the first range trip next week and give an update. In sure most of you guys know enough about the XD/HS family to probably tune out.

I did purchase some ammo for carry, Federal HST Tactical 147gr. +P. I'll let you guys know how that works as well.

If you have recommendations as far as sights, holsters, trigger, anything shy of selling it (GLOCK GUYS!!!) post up and let me know why.
    Last edited by Jpoe88; 04-17-15 at 13:06.

Feedback Score
    13 (100%)
    It's an XD, not an XDm correct?
    98% Sarcastic. 100% Overthinking things and making up reasons for buying a new firearm.

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Jpoe88 View Post