Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Mount selection

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Feedback Score
    6 (100%)

Mount selection

I'm building a recce and plan on using a Vortex PST 1-4x24, what mount should I go with? I'm new to the precision shooting thing. I don't want to pay a ton, its more for fun so I'm looking at $150 or less.

Feedback Score
    6 (100%)
    May be a few buck more, you can find them on sale though, American Defense mount if you are looking QD. I like my Larue just doesn't lock up as solid as my AD.
    ETC (SW/AW), USN (1998-2008)
    CVN-65, USS Enterprise

Feedback Score
    6 (100%)
    I was also looking at the ADM. Just not sure if I need the qd, the scope will probably never come off, I'm mainly debating between the ADM and Vortex, there's about a $70 difference. If it's worth the extra money I'll spend it, just curious of what the extra money will get me.

Feedback Score
    6 (100%)
    If you are not looking for QD, then I would not focus too heavily on the AD. There are many good sets of rings/mounts out there.
    ETC (SW/AW), USN (1998-2008)
    CVN-65, USS Enterprise

Feedback Score
    6 (100%)
    Aero Precision makes a nice non qd mount in 1" & 30mm. The Burris PEPR is quite popular and you can pick one up for $80 or less.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk.
    Just because you're necessary doesn't mean you're important.

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    How do you shoot? Nose to charging handle or not?

Pepr is good. But it's up high over 1.6" if you like a low cheek weld there are better choices. If the optic has less than 4" relief and you run a long length of pull you can't get it back far enough either with a buis or offset rear sight.

Leupolds mark 2 mount is $89 I Amazon. If you don't need qd, its 1.4" high, slick on the left side for sling carry comfort with just a t shirt.

Lots of ring choices. The aero looks good too, it's 1.5" high.