Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: SBR Form 1 rejected for "AR-15" in 4d. Model field.

Feedback Score

SBR Form 1 rejected for "AR-15" in 4d. Model field.

I'm not a newbie to NFA. I've built three silencers without a hiccup and now this. I followed instructions online to the letter and had my form 1 returned to me. The response from the ATF was a little cryptic so I called them for clarification. They explained they are no longer accepting "AR-15" for model because each firearm manufacturer puts their own model designation on their AR's which often is not "AR-15". My DPMS lower says "A-15". The agent(s) I spoke to recommended I include a picture of my lower showing the actual engraved model with my paperwork when I returned it.

People all over the internet are saying to put "AR-15" down for Model because that worked for them. Well it didn't work for me. Hopefully I can save someone the trouble I'm going through.

Date mailed via snail mail: 08 Feb 2015
    Returned: 15 Jun 2015
    Sent back to NFA Branch within a week. Certified mail confirms they've received it. Still waiting for the response. I should add all the agents I spoke to were polite and helpful. I just think this whole process is a little ridiculous since any criminal can shorten a barrel in about a minute with a hacksaw but us good citizens have to jump through all these pointless hoops.

Feedback Score
    10 (100%)
    If you're Making the firearm (Form 1), then it would need to have on it somewhere the Model: [Whatever alphanumeric text you put on the form]. Technically ATF was wrong to reject it, but in theory you'd have to engrave somewhere on it Model: AR-15 to be right to the letter per my understanding for the original submitted form.
    In all honesty, if you've got it sorted out to send in, I wouldn't worry about it.
    عندما تصبح الأسلحة محظورة, قد يملكون حظرون عندهم فقط
    کله چی سلاح منع شوی دی، یوازي غلوونکۍ یی به درلود
    Semper Fi