Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: best 8 shot 357 Mag

Feedback Score

best 8 shot 357 Mag

I am new to revolvers, but thinking it would be fun option for the range. I know there is a Taurus 608 and Smith and Wesson 627s & 327s. Would most likely be shooting 38s or mild 357s though it. Will have some hot stuff around for home defense. Just want to hear people opinion everybody is talking about S&W and ruger, but know one says anything about Taurus. May be that is a sign in and of itself. Thank you all for your time.

Josh

Feedback Score
    Avoid Taurus. They have a much higher rate of defective guns than S&W or Ruger and of the several first-hand accounts I've heard they took multiple trips back to the factory before the issue actually got fixed, if it did at all. I had a Taurus 605 (5-shot .357 snubby) after hearing what a pain Taurus' CS was I researched and fixed the gun myself. After the second time it broke I fixed it again and sold it as soon as I could and bought a Ruger SP101 that same day and never looked back.

No one ever regrets spending the extra money and buying the better quality firearm. If you really want a good 8-shot .357, spring for a S&W. It may hurt more in the wallet but you will be glad you went that route.
    I don't collect guns, I accumulate them

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    I always get a kick out of that S&W R8 8 shot 'tactical' revolver with the rail waaaaay out at the end of the barrel. Never seen one in person though, so no idea if the rail is actually usable or not, but it sure does't look like it is all that accommodating.

http://www.smith-wesson.com/webapp/w...layErrorView_Y

Feedback Score
    27 (100%)
    Grant Cunningham is one of the revolver guru's. He has a great blog about revolver gunsmithing, shooting, etc. He won't touch a Taurus, and talks about issues with them. You might check his info before you buy.

Feedback Score
    9 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by ColtSeavers View Post