Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Proper spring/buffer?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Feedback Score

Proper spring/buffer?

Recently I bought a midlength upper and paired it with a lower. My question is, is there a proper weight spring/buffer weight I should be using on a midlength? Ive heard that midlength should be softer shooting than carbine but that doesnt really seem to be the case granted i did not shoot the two side by side. The lower and upper were ordered from different places so i was just thinking the complete lower may be for a carbine? Im new to this so if its a stupid question let me know.

Feedback Score
    Not a stupid question. First off see what kind of buffer is in there already. If it's a carbine buffer try swapping it out for a H2. If the buffer doesn't say what kind it is you can weigh it up, should be about 3oz. I'm a fan of spikes ST-T2 tungsten powder buffer. If your able to or feel the inclination to throw an A5 buffer system in there.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Feedback Score
    There's no one answer for buffer size, with so many different variables no 2 rifles will be the same

Gas port size,barrel length,gas block type etc all change how the rifle runs

That being said I run an H in my middy with the factory BCM buffer spring

Generally you can run the heaviest buffer that will reliably lock back the bolt on the last round, however keep in mind doing this may not lock back on low powered ammo like Tula so test with most underpowered ammo you will use

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by bandw1dth View Post