Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Of SBRs, cans, and breaks.

Feedback Score

Of SBRs, cans, and breaks.

All,

I have a SilencerCo Omega, and SBR lower in the NFA queue, so I'm obsessing over my plans for when they're done.

I intend to use the Omega with the 9" 300Blk, my 18" 308, and perhaps my 14.5" 5.56. The idea of using a break on the SBR really doesn't appeal to me, but heard talk about it being necessary to take force off of the first baffle. If it's not truly necessary, I'd rather have a flash hider on the SBR (I reserve the right to shoot it unsupressed ), the 5.56 and put a break on the 308.

Do those of you with experience think the break is really necessary? If it it, I suppose that I'd go with the ASR break on all of them with a blast shield on the SBR.

I'd appreciate any advice you have to offer me. I'm new to both SBRs and suppressors.

JRC

Feedback Score
    22 (100%)
    I'm in a similar situation and have chosen to use a brake on the 11.5 to act as a sacrificial baffle. I don't have stamps for the SBR or the Omega yet but that's my plan unless I learn something new in this trhead.

Feedback Score
    8 (100%)
    I used my Omega on a 10.5" 5.56 SBR, a 16" 5.56 and a 16" 7.62x39. All using ASR flash hiders. I did notice some wear on my blast baffle in a kind of triangular shape just like the end of the tines of flash hider. I was very surprised at this as it seemed improbable due to a very low round count and the blast baffle being stellite. I thought it may just be carbon or powder residue caking on the blast baffle but it sure looked like minor pitting to my eyes. Unfortunately I don't know which rifle caused it. I assume it's from the SBR or maybe a result of something in the powder from the 7.62x39. Either way I run a brake on the SBR now. I still have flash hiders on the 16" 5.56 rifles and I haven't put it on the 556R anymore since it would malfunction with the can on.