Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First Timer

Feedback Score

First Timer

Ok, so I am new to all of this, but here is what I want to do and how i was thinking of doing it.
    Ultimately I want to take my current 16inch 300blk and convert it to a 9inch SBR and add a suppressor. I dont necessarily need to do both together, not sure which is easier to do first but I was thinking the barrel?

Please let me know if this makes sense or if there are better ways.

-Use silencer shop to get an NFA Trust
    -Submit an eform 4
    -Get the barrel
    somepoint down the line do that again for the silencer. Could potentially use silencershop for the tax stamp related to the suppressor.

I also need to get the lower engraved, is that correct?

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    If you have the funds I'd go ahead and do both at once that way your forms will be in the que.

Form 4 will be for your suppressor. Form 1 will be for the SBR config.

If you see the barrel you want, I'd also go ahead and order that as well. Stick it back until your stamp returns and assemble. Things have tendencies to go out of stock for a while.

Your lower will be engraved with your trust name as well as city, state.
    Last edited by Jliddle; 08-19-16 at 06:27.

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Efile doesn't exist anymore. Just a heads up.

But for your SBR you actually file a form 1, then file a form 4 for a silencer. As a matter of logistics, I would buy the silencer at the same time as the trust, makes it just that much easier in my mind since you're using the same vendor for both. Then, do the SBR second because it requires less money and is more of a fringe benefit of NFA. whereas the silencer serves an actual purpose in saving your ears.

Yes, you need to get your lower engraved. Search the site, lots of threads about whose service to use.

Good luck, enjoy your first steps into the NFA game!

Feedback Score
    Setup a trust.