Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Experience with Solar Battery Chargers?

Feedback Score

Experience with Solar Battery Chargers?

I'm getting ready to convert all my flashlight preps to AA battery type flashlights. On top of that, I'd like to buy nothing but rechargeable batteries and a solar battery charger.

Can you guys provide some tips, links, suggestions, etc. for this? I'm new to battery recharging and literally don't know a whole lot about the subject.

Feedback Score
    47 (100%)
    My ham buddies all poo-poo Goal Zero products as "overpriced".

That said, their home-brew solar setups are a cobbled-together mess.

Can it be done cheaper? Sure.

But it will be an inelegant pile of wires, unless you put the time in to do it right. The couple hundred bucks they've saved DIY'ing their setups, doesn't warrant giving up the plug-and-play, or factory warranty.

YMMV.

Feedback Score
    10 (100%)
    Not to mention you find Goal-Zero on sale. Often at REI. Last time I was in REI they had some new brand, forget the name though.

@DG, there are a lot of vids on YT dealing with solar charging. Also search super capacitor. You can get some panels from China. Also go to YT adn look up a guy named guerillacomms <sp> . He has an old vid where he set up a repeater on a mountain top using solar. Just recently.. .2 years later.. it went down so he retrieved it and showed what parts failed, etc. Mainly... it blown over or an animal got it and it got water in teh box that blew out the charge controller. Otherwise it worked out well.

this is with about a 16" square panel.

There is another vid that you may find under a search something like raspberry pi solar charge tracker. or something to that nature. All it does is run a little program that compares the power and turns the panel so it facing the sun for as long as possible. When that vid was made the raspberry pi was $35, but now they have a Pi Zero for $5 that would run it easily.