Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Shooting under cars

Feedback Score

Shooting under cars

Disclaimer, I'm not a pro, and haven't taken a course...

I see vids of guys shooting under cars and other barriers. Is that really practical? It seems it leaves you vulnerable if they (the threat) move around the vehicle, and unlikely that you'd be able to hit a foot or leg on a moving threat, or even a still one (small target).

The only way I could see it being used if if a threat was prone out or vitals were somehow able to be hit from that position, but I'd like to hear your thought, as I don't know what I don't know!

Thanks.

Feedback Score
    10 (100%)
    Did anyone train to shoot under cars prior the North Hollywood shoot out? If not, there's your answer.

I see shooting from awkward positions more as a familiarity exercise. When and if the time comes, a person knows what to expect and an efficient manner to utilize whatever position it may be.

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    Shooting under a motor vehicle has a practical application. It is but one tool in a large toolbox. If things have progressed to that point in a violent encounter, you shoot what you can get, a leg, foot, etc. Once the attacker goes low due to injury, you have better target areas to stop the threat.

One important thing to bear in mind when you go low is that the threat can shoot under the vehicle to engage you. You should be prepared to move behind a wheel or get back on your feet and displace quickly.
    Train 2 Win

Feedback Score
    27 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by T2C View Post
    Shooting under a motor vehicle has a practical application. It is but one tool in a large toolbox. If things have progressed to that point in a violent encounter, you shoot what you can get, a leg, foot, etc. Once the attacker goes low due to injury, you have better target areas to stop the threat.