Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Tourniquets revisited for 2016 - CAT, SOFTT-W or SWAT-T

Feedback Score

Tourniquets revisited for 2016 - CAT, SOFTT-W or SWAT-T

As a professional firearms instructor, I have relied on the experience and professionalism of this forum a LOT. I am no means a trained medic, but I read a lot; research extensively before I recommend anything, and talk to as many professionals as I can.

I am also a natural-born cynic and can spot a fake review for a product from a mile away. Growing up during the Cuban missile crisis, I guess you could also say I am a good example of why one should sometimes - to paraphrase an old adage - listen to the old man in a young person's game.

As one who would like to see an IFAK on the belt or person of every law enforcement officer in the nation (among others) I am a strong advocate for minimal kits on the person instead of extensive kits 100 meters away. This is why I am coming to this forum to ask questions about tourniquets and perhaps spark some discussions amongst some very knowledgeable folks.

I have seen pictures of the SWAT-T, but never tried it myself. I know and trust the CAT and the SOF-TT wide. (I currently have two CATs: one in my IFAK and a second one in my vehicle.)

Quite frankly, when I first saw the SWAT-T, I was less than impressed. I have now read many reviews, pro and con, and have come away even less impressed than before. Does anyone have any real life experience with the SWAT-T?

My initial reviews were that it was compact (and certainly better than nothing) but I don't know if I could trust it to work reliably in the field under fire, and while transporting a subject out of the fire zone. Reading the reviews, I found two extremes. Casual users seemed to like its cheap cost and size; medical professionals seemed to hate it. I also found evidence of a lot of fake reviews, possibly from suppliers or manufacturer.