Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: GP100 or 686

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

GP100 or 686

Ok I know this a loaded question... but Im looking to buy a 357 in the near future. Everywhere local had sold out of their used magnum revolvers (outside of snubs) so Im relegated to buying new it seems.

Ive owned a GP100 in the past for a short time. Liked the gun and had no qualms with it. Sold it to fund something else.

Ive owned several K frames and have a decent amount of hands on time with N frame. I have little experience with the L frame guns outside of fondling them at the store.

I can pick up a new GP100 semi locally, not a long drive away, for 600 bucks. They have both stainless and blued. The Smith would be ordered through Budsgunshop for right under 700 bucks. I like the fact that I can get my hands on the GP100 before buying and have the option for a blued model which I like. Though Im not really worried about the 686 being bad when it shows up.

So Im having a hard time deciding between the two. Does anyone have anything that would make you pick oe over the other?
    C co 1/30th Infantry Regiment
    3rd Brigade 3rd Infantry Division
    2002-2006
    OIF 1 and 3

IraqGunz:
    No dude is going to get shot in the chest at 300 yards and look down and say "What is that, a 3 MOA group?"

Feedback Score
    How about Ruger's 8-shot 357 Redhawk?

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Doc Glockster View Post
    How about Ruger's 8-shot 357 Redhawk?
    I think they are a cool gun but they 900 bucks from what Ive seen and the extra 200 to 300 bucks just isnt worth it to me. Plus if Im going to buy a N frame sized gun at 900 dollars Im going to buy a Smith N frame.
    C co 1/30th Infantry Regiment
    3rd Brigade 3rd Infantry Division
    2002-2006
    OIF 1 and 3

IraqGunz: