Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: GP100 or 686

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

GP100 or 686

Ok I know this a loaded question... but Im looking to buy a 357 in the near future. Everywhere local had sold out of their used magnum revolvers (outside of snubs) so Im relegated to buying new it seems.

Ive owned a GP100 in the past for a short time. Liked the gun and had no qualms with it. Sold it to fund something else.

Ive owned several K frames and have a decent amount of hands on time with N frame. I have little experience with the L frame guns outside of fondling them at the store.

I can pick up a new GP100 semi locally, not a long drive away, for 600 bucks. They have both stainless and blued. The Smith would be ordered through Budsgunshop for right under 700 bucks. I like the fact that I can get my hands on the GP100 before buying and have the option for a blued model which I like. Though Im not really worried about the 686 being bad when it shows up.

So Im having a hard time deciding between the two. Does anyone have anything that would make you pick oe over the other?
    C co 1/30th Infantry Regiment
    3rd Brigade 3rd Infantry Division
    2002-2006
    OIF 1 and 3

IraqGunz:
    No dude is going to get shot in the chest at 300 yards and look down and say "What is that, a 3 MOA group?"

Feedback Score
    How about Ruger's 8-shot 357 Redhawk?

Feedback Score
    Would like to hear input too. There is a 357 in my future.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Feedback Score
    I have 3 older L frame Smiths and love them. Because we have had problems with light firing pin strikes with key lock model 64 Smiths in our armory (yes, we use revolvers as well as Glock 22/23 pistols), I would go with an older L frame or the GP100. As a Ruger armorer, they were rock solid but I'm partial to the old Ruger Service Six revolvers which had slightly better actions. My opinion is that Ruger got the firing pin in the frame issue right and Smith hasn't perfected it.