Thread: Experiences with drop-leg holsters

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

Experiences with drop-leg holsters

Own a cz 75 Sp-01 with tall night sights and a tlr-2 laser. Want to get myself a good drop-leg holster with kydex or good hard plastic for the holster material. Looked around a bit and found this: https://spetzgear.com/DROP_LEG_HOLST...-DROPLEG-LIGHT
    Anyone have any experiences with this company, or do you have any good recommendations?

Feedback Score
    23 (100%)
    no experiences with that particular holster or manufacturer but I have some experience with drop leg holsters in general.

I'm not a fan. Even when I got my first nylon drop leg holster and didn't know any better I could tell that running it up as high as possible was better. Legs are tapered down towards the knee. It meant I always felt like my holster was pulling down trying to get loose. If I ran it up high and tight then at best I had this floppy pontoon on my leg when I'd go to run, or it was always twisting around and never where I expected it to be.
    I prefer something mounted to the belt, and at most a little bit of drop to clear plate carriers/chest rigs whatever. But a true drop leg like the one in your link is not for me.
    I also tried a drop leg panel from EMDOM to try running pistol mags a little lower off the belt. This worked out, but similarly I found it always felt like it was pulling down. I run even more stuff on just my belt now (no drop legs) and it never feels like it's pulled me down.

YMMV

Feedback Score
    88 (100%)
    I don't mind a mid-drop, it's actually what I'm using now. Why not go with a more proven manufacturer like Safariland though?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Sic semper tyrannis.

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    The think about safari land is than my cz would only work in their nylon holsters. And that's without the light

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)