Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Any Class A drivers to offer advice

Feedback Score
    4 (100%)

Any Class A drivers to offer advice

I just received my Class A CDL. I have zero experience and am looking to get employed . Can any drivers offer some advice. I'm looking for something local as I want to see my young boys grow up.
    Thanks
    Steve
    "Freedom is never more than one generation away from extinction. It has to be fought for and defended by each generation."
    Ronald Wilson Reagan

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    I don't have a CDL but I'm in the trucking business.

Depending on the goods you transport you may be better of financially and emotionally doing long distance. In certain areas short distance takes a toll on you mentally and being home doesn't mean much when all you want to do is crash and be able to wake up early

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    I have a bunch of buddies who drive trucks. All are local now. All started out OTR with some less than stellar companies like Swift doing team driving with a guy who has been there a bit longer than you. I think my buddy said at Swift it was 1 year and then you were the "lead" or "training" instructor or whatever.

You generally, from what I know, have to have 2 years experience to get any decent local jobs, of which, depending on where you live, there could be a lot, there could be little.