Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: StrongLifts 5x5

Feedback Score
    1 (67%)

StrongLifts 5x5

I am a flight nurse and currently work for a large Level 1 Medical Center.
    My back and core have been in bad shape for years. Partly my own fault, not using proper ergonomics, and partly the job.
    Staying on your feet for 12 hours shifts 3-4 days in a row, working nights, and not following a continuous work out program (being consistent), has led to some continued back pain.

I decided to make a change and be consistent. I have been doing strong lifts 5x5 for 3 months now.
    My current progress is
    Squat: 235
    OH Press: 115
    Deadlift: 275
    Bench: 185
    Barbell Row: 105
    Weighted Dips: 35
    Skull Crush : 50
    Barbell Curls: 60
    Pull Ups:8-7-7
    Push Ups:10-10-10

I know it's not much weight I'm throwing around, but I feel stronger and my back is hurting less. I have been strictly focused on form and movement during my lifts.

I have been using BCAA by ForzaOne during my workouts.

I have access to my gym which is very nice and I also workout at work as we have down time and nice gym set up at my LifeFlight base.

I also throw in rucking with 20-30lbs on my off days or some bag work.

I would love any advice. I am still progressing each week, but the lifts are getting harder and I don't want to sacrifice form or injure myself.

Humbly,
    Reed

Feedback Score
    38 (100%)
    Reed,

Without knowing much more, it's hard to make any recommendations but I would look at your diet and sleep habits. I know with your profession, it may be hard to change much about this, but you may not be recovering and fueling your body enough to progress as fast as you want.

Also, it may help to define what exactly your goal is. Do you want to progress and squat 500 lbs? Or do you just want to be consistent, make slow steady progress, and just generally feel better and be more healthy? Those are two very different things.