Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: How to respond to a racist tirad ?

Feedback Score

How to respond to a racist tirad ?

I was discussing the Philando Castile shooting with a friend, who has been in multiple shootings in 2 countries but was never a cop.

Me I have been a cop in 2 countries full time, plus hold a commission in a 3rd from when I was training their elite units.

I have problems with the actions of the officer, which need not be detailed for this thread.

My friend went off on me calling me a liberal, "N" lover, and a bunch of other vile names. He also said the cop should have shot all 3 people in the vehicle.

I will not put how I responded here at this point in time.

But I would love to know how you would respond to this?

Feedback Score
    4 (100%)
    If I had been unwise enough to start the conversation in the first place, I would have promptly disengaged and walked away. Nothing good or productive would come from furthering the discussion at that point.

Feedback Score
    Just say,
    "Dude,
    You are way more emotionally invested in this than me. We were not there."

And go back to your friendship before the argument.

Feedback Score
    19 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by yoni View Post
    I was discussing the Philando Castile shooting with a friend, who has been in multiple shootings in 2 countries but was never a cop.
    My friend went off on me calling me a liberal, "N" lover, and a bunch of other vile names. He also said the cop should have shot all 3 people in the vehicle.
    I literally never call friends insulting names in a serious manner. People may vary, but that to me would put a hold on the friendship at the least.

Feedback Score
    4 (100%)