Thread: My Practical Rifle

Feedback Score

My Practical Rifle

A few years ago I posted a thread about a practical rifle idea I had.
    https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread...-bolt-gun-idea

Fast forward a few years and I started playing around with Amateur gunsmithing in my Garage. I actually did a mosin psudo scout convertion which turned out very nice. After it was cut down I had functional Iron sights that co witnessed with the red dot optic.

Finding confidence in actually doing this conversion I decided to re barrel my Savage 10FP into my practical rifle instead of selling it out right and picking up a Ruger GSR. Once I crunch the numbers even buying a Barrel vice and the Savage barrel nut tool I could Sell off My Mcree Chassis, the heavy barrel, optic, rings and bases and begin my "conversion" from "sniper Rifle" to some thing a little more practical. I hadn't shot my 10Fp since 2009 according to my log book and it really was a shame to see it sitting in my safe unloved.

For the Mosin conversion I bought a 11Degree crowning tool, and tools from CNC warrior for profiling the barrel and dies for threading. So I bought a used .308 sporter Barrel on ebay. I cut it down to 16.5 and then recrowned/threaded it. I was able to rent head space gauges and them headspaced the barrel, test fired and sent it off to CDI precision to get inletted for a Mag well. I was able to do eveything except the inletting in my garage. Here is what I did and how it is currently configured.

Durakote "can in a can" of Magpul FDE for the metal.

Then Krylon for the stock. So it can be changed with conditions if required.

Started life as a 10FP now is configured:

16.5 threaded sporter barrel in .308 win
    Warne qd rings and mounts steel 30mm
    Vortex 1-6 strike eagle
    A2 flashhider( yes the .30 cal projectiles fit fine)
    CDI Precision AICS Magwell
    Magpul AICS Mags both 10rd and 5rd