Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I'm getting a dad bod

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

Thumbs down I'm getting a dad bod

This seems like a helpful subforum so I figured I'd solicit some honest, down to earth help from you guys. I've been searching online for weeks but there's so much conflicting information out there and so many people trying to sell you something that I just don't trust what I'm reading most of the time.

Background: I'm 5'7"-5'8" and my weight naturally hovered right around 165lbs for 12+ years. I've always been of average build and never had to "work" to stay that way. I'm not a runner, and for all intents and purposes I've never been in a gym - I actually don't even have a gym where I live. I have a desk job (work from home) and I'm not very athletic, but that has been the case since I graduated college. I have been doing ~15 minutes of simple bodyweight exercises 6-7 days a week (pushups, bicycle crunches, burpees, etc) since I was about 22 and it's always been enough to keep me content with my appearance. I eat pretty much whatever, but try to use common sense and do it in moderation. I drink a lot but I've been trying to keep that in check ever since I started gaining weight.

Problem: I'm not doing anything differently now, but it's obviously not working any more. Since I turned 29, I've started experiencing all kinds of changes in body shape and hormones, and I've started packing on pounds. My thighs and gut are getting flabby and what I used to call pecs are becoming legit man boobs, but my hips, ass, arms and calves have actually melted away to nothing - I've actually dropped a full pants size and my shirts are getting baggy on the shoulders, while I'm gaining weight. WTF I'm now 30, a single dad, and my weight is approaching 200.