Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to the 1911, info wanted

Feedback Score
    29 (97%)

New to the 1911, info wanted

Hey guys,

As stated I'm new to the 1911 platform and ant to learn more. There is a ton of knowledge here on this forum so I figured this is the place to come. I just got a new S&W E series with a rail in trade from a friend of mine and I love it.

I searched here and did not come up with a lot of information regarding the S&W line of 1911's so I figured I would let all y'all chime in and tell me about it.

It came with a Streamlight TLR-HL model and I'm looking for a holster that. Any info there would be greatly appreciated.

I had a friend suggest aromrdillo concealment but I have never heard of them before.

My first order of business is to get some ammo and mags and put it through its paces. I'm gonna go with Wilson Combat mags to start. I read flood things on here about those so that's one less thing I need to figure out.

Any other input would be great about the S&W. I will try and get some pics up here. It's been a while since I have posted so need to re-learn that process.

Thanks in advance folks!!!!
    "Si Vis Pacem Para Bellum"

Semper Paratus AR-15 Armorer

Feedback Score
    Holster? More info needed. Are you looking for outside the waistband or inside? Open carry, concealment or games? Comfort first and speedy draw, or minimized printing? Leather, kydex or hybrid?

Mags? Wilson's are great, as are McCormack's and Tripp's.

Most significant, if you want to dig deep on 1911s in general and S&W's approach to them specifically, get thee to 1911forum.com and their S&W subforum. Just like you can learn a lot on a variety of firearms at M4C but really it's a M4 site, same for 1911 Forum.

Feedback Score
    29 (97%)
    Copy that. Thanks for the reply. I have been doing a ton of reading on the 1911 platform and the S&W model in particular.