Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New 44 mag/44 special, HELP!

Feedback Score

New 44 mag/44 special, HELP!

I recently found a great deal on a used RedHawk 44 mag with a 4.2in barrel. I have no knowledge or experience with the caliber, and here in West Texas, it is just not that common, other than as a range toy. I bought it strictly as a hunting sidearm, for when I am hog hunting. My typical hunting pistol is a 10mm, so if I hunt anything else, I will probably use the 10mm. I fired some 44 mag Rem 240 jhp, and some 44 Special Hornady, just to check function.
    Is there anything peculiar to Ruger revolvers I need to be aware of? All the revolvers I own, or have shot, were Smiths.
    The magnum was brutal, any tips to tame the recoil?
    What are the general loadings like?
    Heavy load?
    At what point would you recommend a hard cast bullet, jhp, or sp?
    Who do you trust for hunting loads?
    I realize projectile selection is important, given the power of the cartridge, is it as critical as in smaller calibers?
    I really enjoyed shooting the 44 Special rounds, what is a good self-defense load for it?
    Who makes a decent kydex OWB for it? Is there one with a system similar to the Safariland ALS?
    Chest holster?
    Which speed loaders would you recommend?
    Last edited by Mr_Happy1; 09-21-17 at 07:07.

Feedback Score

New 44 mag/44 special, HELP!

Quote Originally Posted by Mr_Happy1 View Post
    I recently found a great deal on a used RedHawk 44 mag with a 4.2in barrel. I have no knowledge or experience with the caliber, and here in West Texas, it is just not that common, other than as a range toy. I bought it strictly as a hunting sidearm, for when I am hog hunting. My typical hunting pistol is a 10mm, so if I hunt anything else, I will probably use the 10mm. I fired some 44 mag Rem 240 jhp, and some 44 Special Hornady, just to check function.

Is there anything pencils to Ruger revolvers I need to be aware of?
    NO. JUST HAVE FUN