Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Newbie Shooter, Night Force Scope??

Feedback Score

Newbie Shooter, Night Force Scope??

So I am new to scopes and bolt actions. Before this, I have only run black rifles with red dots.

So I bought my first bolt action a Tikka T3X Artic Ranger in .308, this will be my go to, all around bolt action. After selling off most of my collection, I try to keep my gun count under 10.

I would like to shoot this rifle up to about 500 yards.

From my research, it seems a 1-4x power scope would be ok to shoot out to 500 yards?

I also like a easy to use reticle, since I am a novice to scopes.

I read and fell in love with the NightForce NSX 1-4 with the FC-3G reticle.

What do you guys think of this scope / reticle? Are there better option out there for a all purpose rifle?

Feedback Score
    2.5-10x would be better or wait for their 1-8x.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Feedback Score
    I think you'd want much more magnification out to 500 yards.

Feedback Score
    5 (100%)
    No expert here, but that seems low power for the distances you wanna go. I put a 1.5-4 X on my Ruger Scout with expectations of reliable hits 200 yards on medium/large targets. Then again, a sharp shooter I aint.
    - Will

General Performance/Fitness Advice for all

www.BrinkZone.com

LE/Mil specific info:

https://brinkzone.com/category/swatleomilitary/

“Those who do not view armed self defense as a basic human right, ignore the mass graves of those who died on their knees at the hands of tyrants.”

Feedback Score
    14 (100%)
    Although 4x is plenty of magnification to get you to 500. 8 or 10 will allow you to call your shots/hits/misses. It's really about how precise you want your 500 yard shooting to be.
    "What would a $2,000 Geissele Super Duty do that a $500 PSA door buster on Black Friday couldn't do?" - Stopsign32v

Feedback Score
    5 (100%)