Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: AR10 Recommendation ???

Feedback Score

AR10 Recommendation ???

A friend asked me about AR10s which I know pretty much zero about and I have never owned one. He want's one to deer hunt with and plink, and he is on a relatively small budget. I assume the pricing is near bottom now like AR15s?

For an AR15 I would personally recommend an entry level "name brand" like a S&W MP15 sport. What would be something along that line in an AR in 308 rifle?

Also, he asked about a 308 upper to mix & match with a 556 upper on the same lower. I would assume they would need a different buffer spring, but again, I have no knowledge or experience on this 308 AR topic???

Feedback Score
    6 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by shotmeshotu View Post
    A friend asked me about AR10s which I know pretty much zero about and I have never owned one. He want's one to deer hunt with and plink, and he is on a relatively small budget. I assume the pricing is near bottom now like AR15s?

For an AR15 I would personally recommend an entry level "name brand" like a S&W MP15 sport. What would be something along that line in an AR in 308 rifle?

Also, he asked about a 308 upper to mix & match with a 556 upper on the same lower. I would assume they would need a different buffer spring, but again, I have no knowledge or experience on this 308 AR topic???
    An AR-10 and an AR-15 have different sized lowers. They are not compatible with each other when it comes to swapping out uppers. An AR-10 also requires a different sized receiver extension kit than an AR-15. AR-15 bolt carrier groups, charging handles, rails, muzzle devices, etc, are also not compatible with the AR-10 platform.

Feedback Score
    and the AR10 to expand on the post above doesn't mix and match well even among other AR10 manufs.

Feedback Score
    The colt 901 is a convertible lower. Based on reviews it seems to be a decent GP rifle. I’d do some research on that to start.

Feedback Score