Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: bolt unlock timing

Feedback Score

bolt unlock timing

Howdy. First post here. Guess I'll apologize in advance for stupid questions and annoying comments to come. Note I've been shooting for 46 or 8 years (have even done some long range), but have only played AR for 2. Have a weak mind trying to understand a not necessarily simple platform. Anyway:

Ass I've been reading here about gassing issues/cures and general weapon function, I get to wondering:

Would anyone be willing to specifically describe differences in effect (if any) on bolt unlock timing by gas flow control (adj block) vs heavier spring/weight cures? Maybe even relate this to any potential effects on accuracy?

Thanks in advance.

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    In the simplest terms, the lesser the gas flow, the longer it takes to pressurize the expansion chamber in the carrier enough to start it moving. However, as it's residual pressure (pressure in the system after the bullet exits the barrel) the gas has to pressurize the expansion chamber before the pressure drops too far.

If the gas pressurizes the expansion chamber too quickly, the carrier gets moving too soon and unlocks the bolt too early. Gas flow (along with reciprocating mass and spring rate) is a balancing act.
    The number of folks on my Full Of Shit list grows everyday

http://i115.photobucket.com/albums/n289/SgtSongDog/AR%20Carbine/DSC_0114.jpg
    I am American

Feedback Score
    Thanks MW. So, my 16 in, 8 twst, mid lngth Wilson Combat in BCM upper is throwing 2-230 with SpCo blue and H3. If I choose to further tame and fantasize accuracy, I MIGHT be better off with an adj gas block (and lighter spring/buffer) than a heavier spring?

If so or I just want to go adj block, what spring and buffer should I tune to?

It's running fine on chump ammo. Plan to feed it better, soon.... Sorry, for a dummy like me, it's as much about the journey....

Feedback Score
    11 (92%)