Thread: First AR/First Build

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

First AR/First Build

Since I have begun researching my second build I thought I should post my first build for reference.

I read everything I could on this site, including the posts that said "buy your first AR" and "you won't save money building over buying a complete AR".

I'm a hands on guy, I enjoy the research portion of a project and I like to learn about and work on machinery (it is what I do for a living).
    I set a budget of what I was going to spend every month, mostly to give me time to research the next components and to make the project last a few months over the winter.

Every major component of this build I researched here.

It started on Black Fri. 2016. The local reload shop had told me about Axelson Tactical, they are only a few miles from my house in Minden, NV.
    They had a sale going when I walked in to look at receiver sets so I started there with their upper & lower receiver.

Later I bought my barrel there as well.
    It is a Faxxon Firearms, 18” Gov't/Socom 1-8 twist, 5.56 NATO, Rifle length gas system.

I found Sons of Liberty Gun Works online and purchased their BCG and upper and lower parts kits.

I ordered a Larue 2 stage trigger early on so I could wait on it while getting everything else together.

The hand guard is a Giessele Super Modular MK4 13” M-Lok in black, it came with the gas block.

Bravo Company supplied the medium charging handle, intermediate extension and Gunfighter Mod 3 pistol grip.
    I installed an A5H2 buffer and green Sprinco spring in the RE.

I decided on the Magpul CTR Stock and Magpul MBUS Pro flip up front and rear sights

A QD end plate, A2 Flashhider and a trigger guard sourced at the local gunshow finished the parts.

I also got to buy some new tools so I could hopefully assemble my pile of parts with out damaging anything.

Feb. 2017 I was finished buying parts and tools and reading and watching videos on line.